Seven Heavens

It is He Who hath created for you all things that are on earth; Moreover His design comprehended the heavens, for He gave order and perfection to the seven firmaments; and of all things He hath perfect knowledge.

(Al-Baqara 29. Verse)

He Who created the seven heavens one above another: No want of proportion wilt thou see in the Creation of (Allah) Most Gracious. So turn thy vision again: seest thou any flaw?

(Al-Mulk 3. Verse)

See ye not how Allah hath created seven heavens in harmony,

(Nuh 15. Verse)

Lo! We have adorned the lowest heaven with an ornament, the planets.

(As-Saffat 6. Verse)


From these verses, we see that the universe consists of seven heavens. From the last verse, the Solar System (Sun and its planets) is the first sky relative to the Earth.

The Solar System is located in the Milky Way, a spiral galaxy with a diameter of about 100,000 light years, containing about 200 billion stars. The stars, visible to almost all naked eyes in the sky, are part of the Milky Way. The Sun is between 27,000 light years from the Galactic Center and its speed in the Milky Way is approximately 220 km / second, thereby completing the revolution every 240 million years. This revolution is known as the galactic year of the Solar System.

Along with the other 50 galaxies, the Milky Way and its immediate surroundings form a cluster known as the Local Group. Two small galaxies in the Local Group and a series of dwarf galaxies orbit the Milky Way. The milky way's smallest dwarf galaxies are only 500 light-years in diameter. The Local Group (among others, a cluster of gravitational-connected galaxies that includes the Milky Way and the Andromeda Galaxy) is part of a superset called the Local Superset, a component of the Virgo Supercluster.

7 layers of Sky

Laniakea and the Milky Way

Virgo Supercluster has at least 100 galaxy groups and clusters across 150 million light-years in diameter. And a 2014 study shows that the Virgo Supercluster is only part of Laniakea, a larger superdivision. Superclusters are groups of galaxies of very large scales measured across hundreds of millions of light-years. Among these supersets are large open spaces where space probes will encounter little in the galaxy or in the path of matter.

The Milky Way moves through space with everything else in the Universe. The earth moves around the Sun, around the Milky Way, as part of the Local Group of the Sun and the Milky Way, moving at about 630 km per second, depending on the local common reference framework.

Verses show that the Solar System constitutes the first sky and the remaining 6 skies look like follows: 2. Milky Way galaxy, 3. Local Group, 4th Local Supercluster, 5. Virgo Supercluster, 6. Laniakea Supercluster, 7. Highest sky: The rest of the universe.

Allah knows best in everything.

Quran Facts: A Scientific Overview – M. Kemal Irmak

You might also like these...

  1. Neşe Çetiner dedi ki:

    Çok güzel bilgiler teşekkürler söyleşilerimde yararlanıyorum varolun

  2. Najib dedi ki:

    Problème: Les étoiles sont plantées sous le premier ciel (Sour 41,11) et entre chaque ciel il y a 500 ans de marche (Haddith). Donc tout cet article n’est pas cohérent avec les textes.

    • Ayt dedi ki:

      “Parce que lorsque la relativité du temps est prise en compte, “Jour” se réfère uniquement à une période de 24 heures perçue sur terre dans ses circonstances actuelles. Mais dans une autre partie de l’univers, dans un autre temps et de l’état, “Jour” est une beaucoup plus longue période de temps.”

Bir yanıt yazın

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *